TAFE Directors Australia National Scholarships Foundation Launches

The trustees of the Mick Young Scholarship TrustMYST, have unanimously resolved to wind up the trust with effect from 30 November 2012 and to distribute the net assets of the trust to a new entity, the TAFE Directors Australia National Scholarships Foundation (TDA NSF).

TDA NSF was established in July 2012 by TAFE Directors Australia, the peak national body which represents 58 Australian public TAFE Institutes and university TAFE divisions. TDA NSF has been established to provide scholarships to support recipients vocational education and training needs - very similar aims and objectives to those which have applied to the Mick Young Scholarship Trust.

TDA NSF has committed to the continuation of a programme of scholarships to financially disadvantaged Australians which will be entitled Mick Young Scholarship for the indefinite future.

Since its establishment in 1997, the Mick Young Scholarship Trust has awarded $1.7m to more than 3000 Australian students, thereby allowing recipients to further their education and to improve their quality of life.

The trust would like to thank its many supporters and volunteers over the years, without whose unstinting efforts the trust would not have been in a position to assist so many scholarship recipients. The trust looks forward to the continuation of the Mick Young Scholarships under the aegis of TDA NSF and wishes the new foundation every success in the future.
November 2012

VJ Thomas Greader